To you, my weary friend

The word “weary” has been spinning around my head recently. “I think I’d consider myself weary,” I think to myself. Sparing the unnecessary details, my life has dealt with far less than this. When it rains, it pours, as they say. I seem to be practicing anxiety-breaking breathing exercises more than just actually breathing like a normal human being. Yes, my life is filled with numerous blessings; a family who loves me, jobs that provide, a new car, the list goes on. But it’s like God’s favorite words are, “But wait! There’s more!” Except, there isn’t a brand new TV behind the curtain, it’s bad-news-Betty.

I say all of this to bring to you the idea of weariness. The dictionary defines weariness as this:

wea·ri·ness ˈwirēnəs

noun

1.

extreme tiredness; fatigue.

“he began to feel weariness”

2.

reluctance to see or experience any more of something.

“hardship at home produced war-weariness”

This looks a little different than “tired” or even “exhausted”. In Matthew 11:28 it says, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” That other word, burdened, is what takes the cake for me. Weary and burdened seem to flow together. When you feel weary, it’s probably because you feel burdened.

In Luke chapter 10, there is a teeny-tiny little story about two sisters named Martha and Mary. They lived together in Martha’s house in a village that I can only assume was the Bible time version of Belle’s provincial town. Well, before their very eyes, Jesus came knocking on the door of their humble, abode. This is the guy that everyone was talking about, the one that had these amazing stories to tell and could do some serious healing and he was wiping his sandals on their welcome mat. I like to think that Martha had that, “Dang it, and I just burned my last Bath and Body Works candle, now the house won’t smell like a woodland forest” moments. Mary on the other hand, she led him in to their house and listened. Sitting at the tired feet of Jesus, she left her burdens at the door and listened. As Martha rushed, Mary rested.

“But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, ‘Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!’

‘Martha, Martha,’ the Lord answered, ‘you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed — or indeed only one. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.’” Luke 10: 40-42

Weary and burdened with preparing her home to be fit for the King of Kings, Martha forgot that he was also sitting in her living room. He was waiting to tell her about how she was worth much more than the burdens on her back, but she was too busy carrying them to hear. Funny how the Bible and the dictionary can directly correlate sometimes.

I relate to Martha like a lot. Weighed down with the burdens of life, I can grow distracted and weary, unable to even process anything going on in the world around me. Blessings become blurry and happiness flees as I trudge up the mountain of life, breathlessly singing Miley Cyrus’ The Climb.

This life is made for so much more. God created burdens so that when we grow weary (when, not if, because you will grow weary), we turn to him. He created us with limits so that he can be limitless. He made us grow tired so he can provide rest. While your burdens are a part of your story, they are not meant to be carried alone. It’s like a refrigerator box. You know, it has that little picture on the side of the two stick-figure men carrying the box together (lifting with the knees, of course). It’d label you a bonafide Hulk if I met someone who could carry a refrigerator by themselves. There are things are are just made to be carried by more than one person because it’s just too heavy.

So, weary friend, give your burdens to God so you can sit at his feet and listen. Don’t let your blessings flee because you’re too weary. Be gracious and thankful that he is the one who created you for such a time as this. He knows you, he knows your burdens, he is ready to give you rest.

P.S. Also you should listen to this song if you’re feeling rather weary and also appreciate David Crowder. 

Leave a Reply

